Skip to content

Real Life Thursdays: Voluntary Simplicity

July 29, 2010

The irony of what I am about to partake in isn’t lost on me.

I have just finished reading The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin and combining this with inspiration by the dear Jocelyn from Simple Lovely and her Summer of Self Improvement Detox I have decided to dedicate September to a month of voluntary simplicity. In some ways I have been working on living simply in a world with so much. To me, this means I do without a smart phone. Since the Beloved cannot live without cable, I have taken to only watching shows that I have scheduled instead of pointlessly watching the television for the sake of watching the television. I don’t use my Ipod I cannot get comfortable with it. I don’t own a GPS which admitted gives me some problems (okay, a lot of problems) because I am genetically cursed with a horrible sense of direction. I can get lost inside a parking lot, I swear.

Dave Bruno’s apartment from here

In September I am taking this to a concious decision toward voluntary simplicity. There is a movement going around in simple living blogs called the 100 things challenge started by Dave Bruno (who I can tell is probably going to get a very successful book/memoir out of this) where he only lives on 100 things. I am not going that far (I am not going to lie. I don’t think I can). In the month of September, I will:

  • Go On A Shopping Hiatus: This means no buying anything that is not neccessary to our day to day living
  • Reduce and Recycle the unwanted and the unneccessary items in our house: This will be perfect timing since I would have just moved
  • Read “The Simple Living Guide” by Luhrs for a better, more complete understanding of this movement

If anyone is interested in joining me, I would be interested in a support group. Sounds easy but I know when the first pair of shoes goes on sale, my resolve is going to start to waiver. I have given you a month to think about it. (Also because I am going to NYC in August and lets be honest, simplicity living in NYC is just going to be impossible!).

What do you think of the voluntary simplicity movement? Do you think I am crazy? I thought it was ironic that a wedding consultant blogger, in the very industry of concious consumption would be taken with this challenge. However, since I am a Shoestring Bride, I thought it would be pretty true to my frugality.

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 6:01 am

    i think it’s fantastic! but then again i’m a little biased 😉

    i’m rooting for you!

  2. July 29, 2010 7:15 am

    I think it’s great too. I have been thinking a lot about simplicity this year, and just moved and am de-cluttering currently. I plan to keep going through my books, closet, stuff in general, over the next year to keep re-evaluating what I want to get rid of. Right now, there are some things I am hesitant to donate/sell, but I suspect in a couple months I will be ready to let go of them when I see I still have not worn them or used them. Perhaps a slow process, but it’s a start. 🙂

  3. Jesselyn Girl permalink*
    July 29, 2010 9:35 am

    @ joslyn: Thanks for the support. Goodness knows I will need it.

    @ Jenny: A start is good. I am reevaluating my closet now. Slowly gonna go through the rest of the house. Amazing how much is there when you actually look!

  4. July 29, 2010 1:58 pm

    I went simple back when I was in the midst of my divorce. At first it was out of necessity (no $$ for blatant consumerism), but after a while, it just seems to fit with my life better. The biggest changes I made were eliminating cable and landline phone, cutting back substantially on groceries, relying on a Brita water filter instead of buying bottled water, and reducing clothes and toy shopping.

    I would like to get to the point where we are eliminating paper towels, but realistically, I think that is going to have to wait until the kids are a tad older.

  5. July 29, 2010 2:44 pm

    This is a great idea. Count me in. We plan on selling our townhouse in the next year and are in desperate need of some decluttering. Also, I’ve found the simpler/cleaner/more organized my surroundings are, the happier/calmer I am.

  6. Jesselyn Girl permalink*
    July 29, 2010 3:05 pm

    @ Sarah: Yeah… the husband won’t let me cut cable. I made a concious effort to only watch shows that I planned for. Not just watch tv for watch tv

    @ KC: Yay. I am excited for a buddy!

Leave a Reply

