Skip to content

The After Session To End All After Sessions

August 15, 2010

I can’t sleep. What is a bored, not-so-exhausted Shoestring to do? Um, hello, look at engagement photos of random strangers, d’oh! Whaddaya mean no one does that? You all are seriously missing out because – 1: You get to judge other people but no one judges you for judging them (did you get all that) 2: It is always good for a laugh or two. I mean good laughs not what-the-crap-were-you-thinking sniggers (well, there are one or two but that is mainly reserved for arch enemies of yours you randomly stumble across on the interweb. “He married her?” See number 1.) 3: You get to go to sleep after with warm fuzzy feelings after. Amazing that even looking at pictures of random people in love still makes one warm and fuzzy. If you are suffering from a recent heartbreak, I wouldn’t recommend this exercise. I would instead get on any review of Liz Gilbert’s “Eat, Pray, Love” and get in furious debates with people you don’t know about whether or not she is a self-centered you-know-what or you want to be her so bad it hurts.

Where was I? Right. So up late. Looking at photos. I stumbled across this “after session” from Dallas photographer Stacy Reeves and just had post my awesome find because well, it’s a cross between “normal”, medieval (yes, you read that right) and wet and sexy after-session. Warning, do not attempt if you are a couple who takes themselves seriously. This is strictly for awesome couples. Please note that Cory and I are not said awesome couples because we are only 25 and therefore take ourselves very seriously indeed.

This is normal.

Change-o, presto, this is medieval… She gave him that sword for their wedding. Hello, awesome…

Now we are sexy.

And they lived happily ever after.

(Actually, I have no idea if they are living happily ever after because I don’t actually know them. Minor detail really. Check out more here. And in the spirit of full disclosure, apparently Offbeat Bride has already featured them – boo! However, it is my humble opinion that not all my 20 readers read Offbeat so the photos bear repeating)

Pictures credited to Stacy Reeves

 

P/S: Don’t you love my new header? Thank you to Thao Thai for the help. It is actually much, much prettier and bigger but slow poke that I am is still plodding along on working on my website. It is coming, I promise!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 9:12 am

    They are indeed awesome and yes, they are living happily ever after as well 🙂

  2. August 16, 2010 4:25 pm

    I like your new header. Very snazzy.

    And yes, I like to amuse myself by looking at engagement and day after photos, too. Amazing how well this couple fits into three very different themes.

  3. August 16, 2010 8:33 pm

    love your new header!!! Super cute!!!

    i don’t know how “in love” with after wedding photo sessions I am. I dunno…I might be the only woman in America that thinks that. I like the idea of anniversary photo shoots and stuff.

    • Jesselyn Girl permalink*
      August 16, 2010 11:52 pm

      Jes, I don’t usually love after sessions either but this just looked so cool and they were doing it before he left for duty so I guess that makes it ok.

  4. August 22, 2010 5:07 pm

    Awesome photos. I love the sexy one with the water fall behind them.

  5. August 26, 2010 12:41 pm

    Considering we didn’t do engagement photos and I have no idea if I’ll even like our wedding day photos — not much confidence in my photographer but she’s what we could afford — I know we won’t be doing a day after session. Personally, what’s the point of the session? Of all the married people I know they have maybe ONE engagement photo up and like two or so wedding photos up in their house and that’s it. They have albums and spent a ton of money on them but have never opened them up expect for when they got the album back from the printer. I wonder if people regret spending the money for the photos they’ll never look at again? I don’t know, maybe I’m just crabby about my photo being taken? 😮

  6. September 9, 2010 4:25 pm

    Don’t worry, you are not the only one checking out other random strangers’ photos. >.<

    And I won't believe you only have 20 readers… ♥ Cool header! ^.^ Thanks for sharing those lovely sexy photos too! Of course all creative photography credits to the photographer.

    Btw Jesslyn, do continue to share photographers' website you come upon. It is always nice to see how differently it is done across the pond. ^.^

  7. October 3, 2010 3:51 pm

    Maybe HE should be in the jail and she with the sword?

  8. October 12, 2010 2:07 pm

    haha! This is great. That’s my brother-in-law and his wife and yes, they do live happily ever after–they’ve been married for 2 years. 🙂 Stacy is also an amazing photographer… she’s great at day after sessions.

    re: why you should do a day after? We are only blowing up two photos from our wedding, and they are from the day after session. The rest of the wedding pics are going in an album, but the day after ones are more like art(hello europe! :-))

  9. October 17, 2010 12:09 am

    Your header is the bomb diggity and I love that sexy photo haha!

Leave a Reply

