Skip to content

The Boy Is Another Year Old.

March 21, 2011

We celebrated at Fogo De Chao which is heaven for any red blooded man who is secretly still a not so evolved caveman. People walking around cutting you slices of meat off a spear stick? Where does the Boy get in line?

Me? I just had the salad bar.

I bought him cologne which fell nicely in my “under-100” price range. I am a great gift giver unlike some people I know *ahem* but I find the problem with couples and gifts is that we always start out strong, you know? You always get them the great gifts: the Kindle, the PS3, the Wii, the digital camera. After a couple of years, the gifts sort of dwindle, like you hit this plateau of “oh good, I don’t have to impress you any more. Gotcha!” or more often that not, it’s “You have everything you want because I got them for you already and I cannot afford anything else you really want. Like the round trip tickets to the Bahamas”.

Damn.

Should have started with smaller expectations. If I got a do-over I would have started with the cologne and ended with the PS3. So if you just got into a relationship or have yet to get into one, take my word for it. The first birthday, just start out small. A card. You know, just to keep expectations low. If she/he sticks around, you know you’ve got a winner. Then you can build up from there. Besides, if you ask me, its good shoestring sense too. I mean, you got to see if they are worth the investment. Nothing like buying them that new gaming console and then you break up. That would really suck.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

